My Reasons for Winter Training

Posted on December 14, 2011

0


Winter Training.

Different coaches may have their own reasons, but mine is quite simple and easy to understand. After a decent fall season with the age groupers, a week or so break, I normally like to jump back on it. This time, the timing was right-mid December. So we got back on the training, at least for the next 3 to 4 weeks or so. You can follow it in the workout section of swimmerjoe to see what’s going on.

My immediate reasons for it are getting the young athletes swimming harder than normal, building up some pain tolerance, and creating a very solid foundation. Most coaches do this, if athletes and dedicated, they normally have a love-hate relationship with this time of the year or training cycle. My main reason is this: to have the ability to swim higher quality sets in late January and February for the last of short course season. This will give us the ability to do this and create some real crazy speed! It really works, I have done it for years.

There are many different ways to do things in training and get ready to swim fast, and this is one of them. Let me know what you guys do. I am always curious. Have a great season!

