I am the Last Man Standing

Posted on July 27, 2011

4


I am the last man standing.

I am it, the man, the last one in the pool. The one that out-waited everyone. The longest sitter and agitator of the tireless coach who sets his “get in” calling on the ever lasting “repeat” button.

I mean, who says it isn’t dreadfully lonely being the last one, the last one to take a shower after you swim, the last one on the bus, the last one to make a decision…..oh yea, and the last one on the relay! 

I am the last man standing. 

I’m like the epic Michael Jordan staying after a long practice shooting more and more free throws, the last swimmer practicing turns over and over again becasue he slipped a little in a meet, the business man who had to get it done and stayed late instead of waiting until the next day to finish his presentation.  The dedication of being the last man, the numero uno in the “last man” category.  The big cheese at the Cheesiest Factory.

I am the last man standing.

The “Jason Lezak” last man, the “Carl Lewis” last man, and yes, even the last man at midnight to finish the Kona Ironman.  Spit blood and chew nails for a hobby last man, wait up at night for everyone to get up in the morning last man, and yes, even the last man to fight Chuck Norris.  (That is a whole other crazy unbelievable Joeism.)

I am the last man standing.

Are you the last one to leave the pool? Are you the last to leave the weight room and do the extra reps and sets?  Are you what you want to be? Are you leaving everything you absolutely have in your training? Too tough to go away, die, or give up?  Why don’t you try to be the last man standing.  I know in a war (Heaven forbid!), that is the one I would like to be.  I know in a Bruce Lee match, that is the one I would like to be. I know playing poker, arm wrestling, or a spelling bee, that is the person I would like to be. 

What about you? 

Be your own last man. Follow no one.

I am the last man standing…care to join me?

