Why Swimmers Aren’t Golfers…

Posted on April 24, 2010

1


But we can pretend to be golfers every once in a while, right?

Well, that’s what three former swimmers (and two current coaches) decided to do. Former Blue Dolfin greats Charlie Rose, Brandon Bryant, and I came together to support “Team Rose” in the Relay for Life golf tournament for cancer research. All three of us have lost a parent to cancer, and so it was fitting we play together on a team to try and help find a cure.

Now I keep telling my age groupers that the friends they have on the team right now will be friends for the rest of their lives.  Charlie, Brandon and I grew up swimming together and I can’t even begin to tell of all the memories we’ve had! (Just see my Teenage Boys and the Tallest Lady in the World for an example!)

And even when we headed in different directions to swim at college (Charlie at Florida State, Brandon at Tennessee, and me at Florida) I still knew they always had my back. It was these guys who have helped me celebrate not only the great things in life, like marriage and having kids, but who have also helped me get through the bad, like the loss of a parent.

So, enjoy a glimpse of our day as we tried to fake it until we make it…and help support Relay for Life along the way!

